Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the management and administration of the Students Association.  The Trustees on the Board are legally and financially responsible for the Students’ Association and its activities. The Board ensures that the Students’ Association remains legally compliant, financially stable and has robust future planning. The Board in conjunction with the Association’s senior staff team also set the strategic goals for the organisation.  You can find out more information about the Board and its make up below.

Board Make up

The Board of Trustees has 12 members:

  • 4 External Trustees who are appointed via the appointments committee. External Trustees can sit on the board for a single term for a maximum of four years.
  • 4 Student Trustees who are appointed by the appointments committee. Student Trustees must be current students at UWS and can sit on the Board for a year. They can do this for a maximum of two consecutive terms.
  • 4 Sabbatical Officers, who are elected by the student body in a cross campus election. You can find out more information regarding the sabbatical officers by clicking here. Sabbatical officers sit on the Board for the duration of their terms in office. They can stand for a maximum of two terms.
  • The Sabbatical Officer who is elected as the Senior Student Representative also becomes the Chair of the Board of Trustees. Click here to view the job description for this role.

Sub Committees

Our constitution allows the Board to have three sub committees which support its work. These are:

  • Appointments Committee
  • Finance & Resources Committee
  • Remuneration & HR Committee

Current Trustees

List of Trustees:

Name Role
Emma Shotter (Chair)

President (Sabbatical Officer)

Franklin Jacob Vice President of Societies & Citizenship  (Sabbatical Officer)
Merle Hill Vice President of Sports & Wellbeing (Sabbatical Officer)
Margo MacMillan Vice President of Education (Sabbatical Officer)

Stuart Aitken

Student Trustee
Saiful Alam Bhuiyan Student Trustee

Monica Reid

Student Trustee
Ethan Wilson Student Trustee
Mark McRitchie

External Trustee

Professor Roddy Williamson

External Trustee
Jennifer Ghandhi External Trustee
Vacant External Trustee

Student Trustees Vacancies

SAUWS is looking to appoint 4 Student Trustees. The candidate should have enthusiasm for the mission, vision and values of the Student Association of the University of the West of Scotland.

The purpose of the role is to ensure the Students’ Association is financially secure, has a strong strategic plan in place with its targets being achieved. Also ensuring the Students’ Association is complying with Charity Law, relevant legislation and its’ Constitution.

For more information click here

More information

If you would like any more details, please contact the SAUWS office using our contact details. You can also view the charities constitution here.

Pages in this section

Powered by MSL

Contact Us

0141 849 4420


The Students' Union
Ayr Campus
University Avenue

+44 (0)1292 886362


The Students' Union
Almada Street

+44 (0)1698 894464

Scottish Charity number: SC005410


The Students' Union
Storie Street

+44 (0)1418494157